The Secret Handshake of the Old Girls’ Guild

I grew up in the sleepy stone town of Stamford in Lincolnshire; home of 17th and 18th century stone buildings, historical almshouses, equestrian events and medieval churches. It is also home to Stamford High School for Girls of which I am an alumni or as Stamford High would call me an Old Girl.

Whilst I was at school the idea of the Old Girls’ Guild didn’t sit so easily with me. I’d gone to public school on a council scholarship, I viewed myself as fiercely working class and didn’t feel that I fitted in in the very middle class of Stamford High School as it was; to think of myself as an ‘Old Girl’ seemed ludicrous, it felt very jolly hockeysticks with lashings of ginger beer. I wound up a member of the Old Girls’ Guild due to my (typical) forgetfulness regarding the opt out form but it wasn’t ever something that entered my consciousness.

As I wrote and started to promote ‘Tiger Tiger’ someone pointed out the Old Girls’ Guild to me. I exchanged emails with a very lovely lady called Tooty who embraced my work and swiftly put a piece about me and my writing in the Old Girls’ Guild newsletter. No negotiation or secret handshake was needed and I feel a little bit silly that I ever had a chip on my shoulder about it.

So I’ll say it loud and say it proud, I’m a Stamford High School Old Girl, and I always will be.

Image Tiger Tiger is available now at: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00D5EYHAM/ref=cm_cr_mts_prod_img

Leave a Reply

