My name is Nicola Sheehan and I’m in love with my bed…

It’s crept up on me over the last few years, I used to get up early, hop out of bed all perky as soon as my alarm went off. I used to find myself getting leg cramps or backache if I stayed in bed whilst not sleeping. I’m not sure when it changed, when the snooze button became my best friend or when the duvet suddenly became the softest, warmest and let’s face it the most wonderful thing ever, but it has undoubtably happened.

Maybe it’s single motherhood, that great loss you encounter of any time actually belonging to just you, where you can’t even have a poo in private, maybe then your bed beca your fortress of solitude. Or maybe it’s because some of the best things ever happen in bed: sleep, sex, the occasional fry up bought to you with love.

No, I’m not sure what it is but I love my bed. I’m writing this from bed now. Bed is awesome.

If I’m honest it’s not just my bed I’m in love with. Don’t get me wrong I am fairly confident that my bed with it’s feather mattress cover and super soft downy duvet would win competitions for comfynes but I’m not that fussy. Gimme pillows and a mattress and just enough room to starfish and I’m happy.

I don’t really get why John and Yoko made the news with their ‘bed-in’, how is staying in the comfiest most awesome place in the world a protest? I would happily do that for no cause. It makes me wonder though, perhaps I should adopt it as a marketing scheme. Rebecca, in Tiger Tiger, likes her hibernation:

I had been deeply ensconced in my new hermit-esque lifestyle for the best part of a fortnight; it was treating my state of incapacitation pretty well actually. I wasn’t having to do some crazy acrobatics to have a shower and I wasn’t having to develop racing driver type skills to negotiate the hairpins and straights of my flat, instead I was hibernating in my own little pit stop. I was more than happy to stay in my bedroom until my cast comes off in another 3 weeks.

Maybe I should emulate her (and John and Yoko) and have a bed in until I’ve sold my next hundred copies. Just don’t tell anyone that I actually like it…

Tiger Tiger is available from the Kindle Store for just £3: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Tiger-ebook/dp/B00D5EYHAM

Leave a Reply

